Will Staying Up Pay Off?

This morning I was tired, hungry, and feeling out of sorts from staying up so late and having to get up at 6. I was almost really late for work, I couldn’t get up out of bed (the SAD doesn’t help either) and of course, today it was raining–and you know how everyone drives in the rain. Everyone except me, that is.

I didn’t hit too many snags last night in entering the ABNA. The only real snag I caught was the first bit, where you upload an author photo. It seems the first one I tried may have been too large to upload, for the little circle “working” icon kept swirling and swirling for a good ten minutes. Then I opened a new window and tried a smaller picture. Bing, bam, boom–it uploaded instantly. So what should have taken me less than five minutes to complete really took about twenty.

And then? I lie awake in bed, my mind wandering everywhere, hoping to fall alseep and get at least five hours. Was it worth it? Sure was. I don’t have to worry about not making it into the contest. I don’t even have to look at it again for a while. One day won’t kill me. It didn’t, in fact. Sure, I was tired. Sure, I should be asleep already trying to make up the lost snoozing time. I just hope that it will be worth it in the long run.

I hope I at least make the quarterfinals. Wish me luck!

2 Comments

  1. Luck! Hope your story does well in the contest! 🙂

    • Thank you! (Me too!) Have you ever entered?

Leave a Reply

