Teen Paranormal Romance Covers

So on my weekly trip to Barnes and Noble last night, I spent a considerable amount of time in the TPR section. Yes, you read that right, there’s actually enough vampire, werewolf, ghost, fairy, troll, and angel teen romance books to warrant its own section. But I digress. I did a bit of visual research while I was there and noticed a growing trend in that genre’s book covers (I’d estimate 80% of those there), and came up with a recipe for success.

1. Create a dark background.

2. Add fancy looking text in bright colors or white.

3. Add an angsty-looking female teen’s face and/or face and upperbody.

4. Make sure said angsty teen’s lips are pouty, slightly agape, and her eyes look as if they are dead.

5. Add something red, no matter how small or insignificant.

And that, my friends, is the recipe for a successful Teen Paranormal Romance cover.

5 Comments

  1. Don’t forget the ones where the girl is standing in an extragant dress with her hair in her face.

    • Pardon: ExtraVAgant. I might occasionally designate something as “extra Gant”, but that’s an entirely different kettle of fish.

      • I’m trying to decide if my next TPR (if I ever get to another one) will follow this recipe or not. To stand out from the crowd, or not, that is the question.

  2. Stand out for the right reasons, that’s my goal. Raise the bar high enough, and maybe the next wave of YA book covers will be clamoring to imitate yours. (:

  3. Ah, that’s a good one. I like it. 🙂
    Actually, I’ve never followed a trend. All my book covers look the way they do because I designed them how I want them. The only one that could possibly be close would be Seraphim, but I had that image in my mind from conception to completion of the book–and even then, no angsty teenage girls with pouty open mouths!
    So stand I out I will.

Leave a Reply

