The Secret World of Arietty – Review

Remember the last time it snowed in New York City a few weeks ago? Well, my sister, daughter and I had tickets to a special advance screening to Hayao Miyazaki’s The Secret World of Arietty courtesy of the New York International Children’s Film Festival (that’s a mouthful!). I was dismayed when we received so much snow, but fearless, we trekked into the city for the showing. At the time, they asked any bloggers not to review the show, but now that it’s been officially released, I don’t think it’s a problem.

Arietty is an imaginative movie based on the book, The Borrowers, and although I’ve never read the book, I can say with confidence that this movie did a pretty good job of sticking to the plot of the book. I can say this because my daughter had me rush right out afterward and purchase The Borrowers for her to read and she gave me the lowdown.

Getting back to the movie, Arietty is about a family of little people who live under a house of humans and “borrow” things that we won’t miss, like sugar or tissues. Arietty lives with her mother and father, and they haven’t seen others in a long time. A sickly boy moves into the house above, whose mother used to tell him stories about the little people. One day he sees Arietty and although she is warned against it, she strikes up a friendship of sorts with the boy.

The movie has fantastic animation, as can be expected from a Studio Ghibli film. It has just enough humor to break the tension, and is a movie fit for the young and old. I won’t spoil the ending for you, but it is satisfying even though your cheeks may be a little wet. I truly enjoyed this movie and can’t wait to add it to my DVD collection.

4 Comments

  1. The premise sounds similar to an animated series my kids watched about fifteen years ago. It makes me wish I had a young person to take to it. What am I saying? My friend and I often go to matinee showings of kids movies on Cheap Tuesdays. I can’t wait to see this one! 🙂

    • Sounds like you’re thinking of “The Littles,” a show I watched as a kid. 🙂

      • Yes! I was trying to remember the name, but kept thinking it was ‘The Borrowers’.

      • Nerdy as it may be, I used to pretend they lived in my house when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

