Welcome to the Jungle

In my high school English class, I was given an extra credit assignment and a list of book selections. Knowing nothing about it, I selected Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle. There was no Amazon.com back then, so there really was no way for me to know what vile things lay ahead. Sure, the book was well-written. Sure, the book made people more aware of the practices of slaughterhouses back then. But was it a suitable match for an extra credit assignment, or me, for that matter? No way.

I was disgusted with the content. I didn’t eat meat for a long time after that, even though the book was written at the turn of the century.

So when browsing the local library’s graphic novel shelves last week, I did a double take. Surely that graphic novel titled, The Jungle, wasn’t the same book. I picked it up and turned it over, and lo and behold, there it was in the byline. Upton Sinclair. Now who in their right mind would create a graphic novel of The Jungle??

image

Apparently, these guys.

I threw it back on the shelf in disgust. I probably should have buried it. But maybe there’s someone out there who will have a different opinion of this book and want to read it as a graphic novel. Yeah, and I’m the queen of England.

2 Comments

  1. That certainly doesn’t sound like a book I’d enjoy either. We had a sadistic English teacher in Junior High who used to gross us out with tales of his work in a slaughterhouse. I didn’t like it then, and I’m sure I wouldn’t like it now!

    • It was pretty gruesome just to read about it and imagine what it looked like, so I can only wonder how gruesome it must be with an artist’s rendering.

Leave a Reply

