Pretty Cool Library

This is the Weehawkin, NJ library, and although I have no idea what’s on the inside, I think the outside looks pretty cool! As we drove by, my daughter said, “That’s some library!” I agreed.

image

I have never been to my hometown library, but from the outside it looks as if it could hold about three books (our local McDonald’s is bigger). I actually go to the Middletown Township library (mtpl.org) because I work in the town and my daughter goes to school there. It got renovated some time ago and it really is a beautiful space, inside and out. Inside there’s a community room with exhibition space and state of the art electronics for presentations, there’s a large children’s room, teen room, and then there’s the rest of the collection. There are a ton of dvds, cds, computer games, and even Wii games for cardholders to borrow. There’s computers and laptops for public use and lots of lounging area, including big,  comfy chairs in front of a seasonal fireplace, and a cafe-style patio. Their staff is also friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

There’s a lot of community programs, too, including author talks, art shows, contests, club meetings, summer reading programs, and service projects. It’s more than a library. It’s a community center. So much, in fact, that it’s really upsetting to see budget cuts for libraries, and ours in particular.

So, now that I’ve gone on about my cool library, why don’t you tell me about yours?

3 Comments

  1. That library in NJ looks amazing and from what you’ve said about yours, that sounds like the perfect place to spend a Saturday afternoon.

    I’m pretty lucky to have many libraries to choose from. I live in a larger city so we have a huge variety of libraries, from the five-story glass and steel Millennium Library downtown, with every resource you could imagine, to the oldest one in a part of the city where all the richest people lived at the turn of the last century. It doesn’t look like a small castle like the one in your picture, but it does look like a museum. 🙂

  2. Your daughter is correct – cool place, indeed!

Leave a Reply

